Swedish pro player Ludwig “zai” Wahlberg will be joining Team Liquid’s Dota 2 roster, concluding his three-year stint with Team Secret after their The International 10 (TI10) run.

Zai is one of the best offlaners in Dota 2, and has won three DPC Majors — The Chongqing Major, MDL Paris Major, and DreamLeague Season 13 Leipzig Major — during his time with Team Secret.

Zai departs from Team Secret after TI9

Credit: Valve

The 24-year-old Swedish pro player had an incredible run with Team Secret. Together with Clement “Puppey” Ivanov and Yazied “YapzOr” Jaradat, Secret has been one of the most consistent teams in the European region that won multiple tournaments throughout 2018-2019, 2019-2020, and 2021 DPC seasons.

“It is a sad moment, but I have to accept that all good things come to an end,” said Team Secret’s captain Puppey regarding Zai’s departure. “I have nothing but love for this man, not only is he an amazing and persistent teammate, he is also a great friend.”

Zai also helped Team Secret finish fourth at TI9, and third at TI10. They dominated TI10’s upper bracket after defeating OG and Invictus Gaming, but fell short against the two TI10 finalists PSG.LGD and Team Spirit during the final day of the competition.

“I’d like to thank my teammates and coach for making these past 3 years some of the best years I’ve had playing DOTA. I’ve not only learned a lot from all the players on this squad, but I’ve also had a blast interacting with everyone day-to-day. We had some amazing games and tournament runs, and I’m very proud of my accomplishments together,” shared Zai.

Team Secret’s Dota 2 roster

  • (1) Lasse Aukusti “Matumbaman” Urpalainen
  • (2) Michal “Nisha” Jankowski
  • (4) Yazied “YapzOr” Jaradat
  • (5) Clement “Puppey” Ivanov (captain)

Starting a new journey with Team Liquid

Credit: Team Liquid

Zai will now take his offlane talents to Team Liquid, a squad that is looking to improve after failing to qualify for TI10.

He is also reuniting with former Heroes of Newerth teammate, Aydin “iNSaNiA” Sarkohi. The two players were part of European HoN squad Blackfade, a team that finished third in the DreamHoN Summer 2012 Championship.

Team Liquid Dota 2 roster for 2022 DPC season

  • (1) Michael “miCKe” Vu
  • (2) Max “qojqva” Brocker
  • (3) Ludwig “zai” Wahlberg
  • (3) Samuel “Boxi” Svahn
  • (4) Tommy “Taiga” Le
  • (5) Aydin “iNSaNiA” Sarkohi (captain)
  • William “Blitz” Lee (coach)

Team Liquid has yet to announce their starting-five roster.

Even though Valve has yet to announce when the 2022 DPC season will begin, Dota 2 teams around the world are already looking to improve their squads during the post TI10 roster shuffle period.

READ MORE: OB.Neon’s new roster locks in six players for 2022 DPC season