European esports organization Team Secret officially parted ways with hard carry player Syed “SumaiL” Hassan today.

The decision was made after the team failed to produce desired results in the 2021-2022 DPC season.

Team Secret parts ways with SumaiL

Team Secret parts ways with SumaiL
Credit: Secret

Secret came into the 2021-2022 DPC season signing two highly accomplished players in former TI5 champion SumaiL and Evil Geniuses offlaner Daryl “iceiceice” Koh.

The two veteran talents replaced Lasse “MATUMBAMAN” Urpalainen and Ludwig “zai” Wåhlberg, who departed from Secret’s roster during the offseason after the team finished third at The International 10.

The revamped roster had its share of struggles as they fell behind the teams in the Western European region. Secret finished fifth in DPC Tour 1 and 2, which left them out of the Dota 2 Major events in 2022. Secret didn’t fare any better internationally, finishing joint-fifth at Gamers Galaxy Dubai.

The roster’s difficulties stemmed from internal problems which Secret’s team captain Ivanov “Puppey” Clement addressed in Secret’s official statement.

Puppey's statement regarding SumaiL's departure from Team Secret
Credit: Secret

“This iteration of Team Secret has always had issues,” said Puppey. “We were trying to resolve problems with role swapping or finding a better philosophy to play the game, but ultimately we couldn’t achieve consistency and fell flat.”

Secret have their sights set on the future, as they’re still looking to make a run in the upcoming DPC Tour 3 in hopes of qualifying for The International 11.

“When things don’t work out, it’s best to just move on, said Puppey. “Change is a reliable pursuit towards progress. No hard feelings.”

SumaiL is now a free agent again, but there have been no reports regarding where he could end up next. The same goes for Secret, who are now in search of a hard carry player, with rumors pointing towards Arets “Crystallis” Remco, Entity Gaming’s 20-year-old position one.

Team Secret’s Dota 2 roster

  • (2) Michał “Nisha” Jankowski
  • (3) Daryl “iceiceice” Koh
  • (4) Yazied “YapzOr” Jaradat
  • (5) Clement “Puppey” Ivanov

READ MORE: Fnatic is the last SEA team standing at Stockholm Major thanks to Jaunuel’s heroics