A new international PUBG tournament is underway.

South Korean video game holding company Krafton is hosting the PUBG Global Series 1 (PGS 1) starting April 27 until May 7 at the Battle Arena Malaysia in Kuala Lumpur.

Unlike the PUBG Continental Series held online in four different regions worldwide last year, the PGS 1 pits the top 24 teams around the world in a LAN setup.

PUBG Global Series 1 offers US$500,000 prize pool and PGS points

PUBG Global Series 1 schedule
Credit: Krafton

Teams are out to compete for a share of the US$500,000 prize pool and PGS points, which are needed to qualify for the PUBG Global Championship (PGC) 2023.

The eight Global Partner Teams and 16 qualified squads from regional tournaments are divided into three groups of eight teams for the group stage scheduled from April 27 to 29.

PUBG Global Series 1’s group stage features a group match-up with six matches per day. Group A and B play on the first day, Group B and C on the second day, and Group C and A on the third day.

At the end of the group stage, the top 16 teams will advance to the winners bracket, while the bottom eight squads will go to the losers bracket.

The winners bracket will take place from April 30 to May 1, with six matches per day. The eight best teams will enter the grand finals, while the bottom eight teams will fight for tournament life against the eight squads in the losers bracket.

Battling it out in six matches per day on May 2 to 3, the top eight from the losers bracket will make it to the grand finals, while the other eight will get eliminated.

Fans will witness a total of 18 exciting matches in the grand finals from May 5 to 7. The team with the highest overall ranking will be crowned champion of the PUBG Global Series 1, taking home US$80,000 and 200 PGS points.

PUBG poster
Credit: Krafton

Starting with the PUBG Global Series 1, a new PGS points system is being introduced. PGS 1 and the upcoming PGS 2 in the second half of the year will award PGS points to the top 16 teams based on their final rankings.

The top four teams with the most PGS points will secure a spot in the year-end PUBG Global Championship 2023. PGS points are separate from the PGC points granted in regional competitions and will not be combined.

All matches of the PUBG Global Series 1 begin at 6 p.m. GMT+8 and fans can watch it live on the official PUBG: BATTLEGROUNDS Twitch and PUBG: Esports YouTube channels.

Follow ONE Esports on Facebook for more PUBG news, guides, and highlights.

READ MORE: How to redeem codes in PUBG Mobile: 7 easy steps