The 2023 Call of Duty League season kicked off December 2 with the online qualifiers for Major I, the first of five Majors this season.

While reigning champions Los Angeles Thieves have retained their starting lineups from 2022, alongside OpTic Texas and Seattle Surge, nearly every other team has made some changes.

CDL 2023 Major I ushers in brand new competition with the first LAN of the season. The Pro-Am event will feature 12 franchised teams and four Challengers teams, all battling for CDL points and a US$500,000 prize pot.

Here’s what you need to know about Major I, including the schedule, results, and format.



What is CDL 2023 Major I?

Major I marks a departure from other Majors, featuring both franchised and amateur teams. It will be hosted by the Call of Duty League on LAN in Raleigh, North Carolina from December 15 to 18 at the Raleigh Convention Center.

Teams will duke it out over CDL points, which will determine their standings and whether or not they qualify for the playoffs at the end of the season.

Two weeks of online qualifiers will be played before teams head to LAN on December 15.


CDL 2023 Major I schedule and results

CDL 2023 Major I qualifier schedule
Credit: Activision Blizzard

Qualifiers Week 1

December 2

TEAMRESULTSTEAM
Boston Breach3 — 1Atlanta FaZe
OpTic Texas1 — 3Minnesota RØKKR
Vegas Legion1 — 3Los Angeles Thieves
Los Angeles Guerrillas3 — 2Seattle Surge

December 3

TEAMRESULTSTEAM
Minnesota RØKKR3 — 1Toronto Ultra
New York Subliners0 — 3London Royal Ravens
Seattle Surge1 — 3Boston Breach
Florida Mutineers3 — 2Vegas Legion

December 4

TEAMRESULTSTEAM
Los Angeles Guerrillas2 — 3London Royal Ravens
OpTic Texas3 — 0Florida Mutineers
Los Angeles Thieves2 — 3Atlanta FaZe
Toronto Ultra3 — 1New York Subliners

Qualifiers Week 2

December 9

TEAMRESULTSTEAM
Seattle Surge3 — 1London Royal Ravens
Florida Mutineers1 — 3Minnesota RØKKR
New York Subliners3 — 0Los Angeles Guerrillas
Toronto Ultra3 — 2Atlanta FaZe

December 10

TEAMSCHEDULETEAM
Atlanta FaZe12:00 p.m. PT | 8:00 p.m. GMT | 4:00 a.m. GMT +8, December 11Vegas Legion
OpTic Texas1:30 p.m. PT | 9:30 p.m. GMT | 5:30 a.m. GMT +8, December 11London Royal Ravens
New York Subliners3:00 p.m. PT | 11:00 p.m. GMT | 7:00 a.m. GMT +8, December 11Boston Breach
Florida Mutineers4:30 p.m. PT | 12:30 a.m. GMT, December 11 | 8:30 a.m. GMT +8, December 11Los Angeles Thieves

December 11

TEAMSCHEDULETEAM
Minnesota RØKKR12:00 p.m. PT | 8:00 p.m. GMT | 4:00 a.m. GMT +8, December 12Vegas Legion
Seattle Surge1:30 p.m. PT | 9:30 p.m. GMT | 5:30 a.m. GMT +8, December 12Toronto Ultra
Los Angeles Thieves3:00 p.m. PT | 11:00 p.m. GMT | 7:00 a.m. GMT +8, December 12OpTic Texas
Boston Breach4:30 p.m. PT | 12:30 a.m. GMT, December 12 | 8:30 a.m. GMT +8, December 12Los Angeles Guerrillas

CDL 2023 Major I format

Each team will play four qualifying matches in two weeks, and then the League will host Major I in Raleigh.

The top four teams from the Challengers LAN qualifier stage will join the Major I group stage alongside the 12 franchised CDL teams.

Major I will begin with four groups of four teams competing in a GSL format. The top two from each group will then advance into a double-elimination bracket to decide the champion of Major I.

All Majors finals will be played in a best-of-seven format.


CDL 2023 Major I teams

CDL 2023 operator packs
Credit: Activision Blizzard

All 12 franchised teams are competing in Major I:

  • Atlanta FaZe
  • Boston Breach
  • Florida Mutineers
  • Las Vegas Legion
  • London Royal Ravens
  • Los Angeles Guerrillas
  • Los Angeles Thieves
  • Minnesota RØKKR
  • New York Subliners
  • Seattle Surge
  • OpTic Texas
  • Toronto Ultra

Eight Challengers teams have qualified for the Challengers LAN, which will determine which four move ahead to the group stage:

  • RØKKR Academy
  • Decimate Gaming
  • LAG Academy
  • Aw0babobs
  • Pollodrom
  • Elevate
  • Orgless
  • D1 Gaming

Where to watch CDL 2023 Major I



Major I will be available to watch on the official Call of Duty Twitch channel and website.

Games will be played in front of a live audience from December 15 to 18. Tickets are available to buy now at fevo.com, starting from US$25.

READ MORE: How to level up your weapons faster in Warzone 2.0