Former ONIC PH midlaner Jaylord “Hate” Gonzales is now part of Team SMG for the upcoming Mobile Legends: Bang Bang Professional League Malaysia Season 10 (MPL MY Season 10).

Hate becomes the first Filipino import to play for a Malaysian team and the second confirmed MPL PH player to play overseas this season after Kairi “Kairi” Rayosdelsol with ONIC Esports.

Hate will play for Team SMG at MPL MY Season 10

Team SMG's official roster for MPL MY Season 10
Credit: Team SMG

The organization released a video of its official lineup for the 10th season, which includes stars Lu Khai “Sasa” Bean and captain Aeliff Adam “Smooth” Md Ariff. They will be under the guidance of veteran head coach James “Jamesss” Chen.

The midlaner will also be reverting his name from Hatred to Hate, his former in-game name when he was with Execration in seasons 5 and 6.

Mobile Legends: Bang Bang MPL player, Jaylord "Hatred" Gonzales
Screenshot by Ron Muyot/ONE Esports PH

After joining ONIC in season 7, he got his big break after placing second at MPL PH Season 8, securing a slot at the M3 World Championship, where they finished second as well.

The yellow hedgehog squad weren’t as successful in season 9 after they finished fourth and failed to get an MSC 2022 slot. The organization then released eight of its nine players, including the 19-year-old midlaner.

After winning MPL MY Season 8, SMG failed to defend its crown in the ninth season after losing to eventual champion Todak in the upper bracket semifinal and Team Caracal in the lower bracket quarterfinal.

Numerous international organizations have taken in MPL PH imports this offseason. Indonesia’s ONIC Esports recruited Kairi two weeks ago, and clues are pointing out that Allen “Baloyskie” Baloy and Mark “Hadess” Lazaro have joined Geek Fam Indonesia. Cambodia’s Burn x Flash Gaming have also signed Nexplay EVOS’ John Michael “Zico” Dizon as their head coach for its MPL Cambodia campaign.

This comes after Filipino teams have won the most international MLBB trophies with seven championships, including the recently-concluded MSC 2022. Indonesia is close behind with seven championships.

Team SMG’s MPL MY Season 10 roster

  • Aeliff Adam “Smooth” Md Ariff
  • Lu Khai “Sasa” Bean
  • Muhammad “Zaim Sempoi Zaim
  • Hadiazwan “Box” Rosli
  • Raja Mohamad Anwar “Nuar” Raja Arif Shah
  • Jaylord “Hate” Gonzales

Follow ONE Esports on Facebook for more Mobile Legends: Bang Bang and MPL updates.

READ MORE: The new global ban system in MDL ID Season 6 could change MPL forever