The Elusive Samurai episode 2 continues with Tokiyuki Hojo accepting that he must go on the lam.

Previously ridiculed for his fleeing skills, Tokiyuki now finds his elusiveness his greatest strength in the desperate fight for survival.

The best anime openings of all time featuring Code Geass, One Piece, Naruto, and Pokemon ONE Esports
Credit: Sunrise, The Pokemon Company, Studio Pierrot, Toei Animation, ONE Esports
The 17 best anime openings of all time

Can his unparalleled ability to evade capture become his weapon against those who seek his demise?

The stakes soar as Tokiyuki’s childhood game of tag turns deadly, putting Japan’s fate at risk.

The Elusive Samurai episode 1 recap

The Elusive Samurai main characters Tokiyuki Hojo and Yorishige Suwa seen in episode 1 of the anime
Credit: CloverWorks, Shueisha, Yusei Matsui

The first episode of The Elusive Samurai established the world and its central character, Tokiyuki Hojo.

In 1333 Kamakura, a period where samurai culture emphasized martial prowess, viewers were introduced to Tokiyuki, the heir to the Kamakura shogunate regent.

One Piece characters in ONE Esports featured image on the meaning of canon in anime
Credit: Toei Animation, ONE Esports
What does canon mean in anime? Important term explained

Unlike his expected samurai upbringing, Tokiyuki displayed a gentle nature and a strong aversion to conflict. This pacifism made him an outsider amongst his peers, earning him labels of cowardice due to his disinterest in martial arts training.

The episode showcased Tokiyuki’s exceptional ability to evade capture, a skill honed through years of avoiding training sessions.

Goku, Satoru Gojo, and All Might featured in 13 best fighting anime to get your blood pumping before your next ranked game ONE Esports article
Credit: ONE Esports, Toei Animation, Toho Animation
13 best fighting anime to get your blood pumping before your next ranked game

A pivotal moment arrived when Tokiyuki encountered the mysterious Suwa Yorishige, a priest rumored to possess prophetic abilities. Suwa’s unexpected pronouncement – that Tokiyuki would become a hero who would shake the very foundations of Japan – cast a new light on the young man’s future.

However, the episode concluded with a shocking twist, leaving viewers on a cliffhanger. Tokiyuki witnessed a brutal event that shattered his previous life, and forced him to take a drastic measure – fleeing for survival.

The Elusive Samurai episode 2

Shonen anime featuring One Piece, JoJo, Mob Psycho, Pokemon, Naruto, Bleach, Pokemon, Full Metal Alchemist in ONE Esports featured image for article "The 10 best shonen anime to watch with your nakamas"
Credit: ONE Esports
The 10 best shonen anime to watch with your nakamas

Nige Jouzu no Wakagimi episode 2 release date is on Saturday, July 13, 2024, at 9 a.m. Pacific Time (PT).

THE ELUSIVE SAMURAI EPISODES 2 RELEASE DATE TIME ZONESTIME
JST (Japanese Standard Time)1 a.m. (July 14)
GMT+812 a.m. (July 14)
ET (Eastern Time)12 p.m.
CT (Central Time)11 a.m.
GMT (Western European Time)4 p.m.
CET (Central European Time)6 p.m.
IST (Indian Standard Time)9:30 p.m.

Where to watch The Elusive Samurai

The anime is available on the following platforms.

Availability may differ depending on your region.

READ MORE: Fire Force ignites its finale: Season 3’s release schedule is out