North America will finally be having its first Dota Pro Circuit (DPC) Major, as ESL has announced that the third Major of the 2019-2020 season will be held in sunny Los Angeles in March next year.

ESL One Los Angeles 2020 will be held from March 15 to 22, with the Group Stage running from March 15 to 19 and the Main Event open to the public at the Shrine Auditorium from March 20 to 22.

As with all Majors this season, the Los Angeles Major will have 16 teams duke it out for the lion’s share of the US$1 million prize pool and 15,000 DPC points.

The prize pool and point distribution for the Major will be as follows:

  • 1st – US$300,000 – 4,850 points
  • 2nd – US$160,000 – 3,000 points
  • 3rd – US$110,000 – 2,100 points
  • 4th – US$80,000 – 1,350 points
  • 5th-6th – US$60,000 – 900 points
  • 7th-8th – US$40,000 – 450 points
  • 9th-12th – US$20,000 – 150 points
  • 12th-16th – US$12,500 – 100 points

Of the 16 participating teams, three will be coming from each of North America, Europe, and China, while South America, CIS, and Southeast Asia will get two representatives apiece. The final spot will be reserved for the winners of the LA Major’s accompanying Minor event, which has yet to be announced.

While the dates for the qualifiers of the season’s third Major cycle have also yet to be revealed, they are expected to be held sometime in April, approximately a month before the Los Angeles Major starts.

READ MORE: MDL Chengdu Major Day 4: Alliance eliminates Team Aster in a hard-fought 2-1 elimination match