Arena of Valor (AoV) is taking its esports scene to the next level.

Tencent Games has announced that it will be combining Arena of Valor and Honor of Kings (HoK). The merge means that the Arena of Valor World Cup (AWC) 2022 will be a brand new global tournament.

Arena of Valor and Honor of Kings

Arena of Valor, Honor of Kings, trophy
Credit: Garena, Tencent

The upcoming Arena of Valor World Cup 2022 will act as a bridge between Arena of Valor and Honor of Kings. The developers are planning to introduce a new AoV esports version update.

It will feature heroes from both games to build a “fair and balanced competition” according to Tencent Games Lead of Global Esports Bernd Gottsmann.

The Arena of Valor World Cup 2022’s prize pool is expected to exceed US$8,000,000, higher than any of other prize pool that Arena of Valor and Honor of Kings offered in the past.

Is Arena of Valor same as Honor of Kings?

Arena of Valor is the international version of Honor of Kings (HoK). Honor of Kings was exclusively released for the Chinese market back in 2015 before launching globally as Arena of Valor in 2016.

Arena of Valor World Cup 2022 to introduce regional tournaments

Arena of Valor, dtac Talon Esports RoV, AWC 2021 champions
Credit: Garena RoV Thailand

Esports fans can look forward to more exciting mobile MOBA matches as the Arena of Valor World Cup 2022 introduces regional tournaments. These regional tournaments will determine the teams that qualify for the Group Stage’s 16 slots.

The Arena of Valor World Cup will include the best mobile MOBA teams from the following regions:

  • Asia
  • South America
  • North America
  • Middle East
  • Europe

The competition will include existing leagues like Thailand’s RoV Pro League (RPL), Vietnam’s Arena of Glory (AOG), and Taiwan’s Garena Challenger Series (GCS). Each league will have at least one representative at the international mobile esports tournament.

The AWC esports tournament

Arena of Valor, AWC 2019, Team Flash
Credit: LQM Vietnam

The AWC is the most popular Arena of Valor competition since 2018. With an astounding US$8M prize pool, AWC 2022 will set a new benchmark for both AoV and HoK.

Previous AWC champions include Korea (2018), Vietnam (2019), and Thailand’s dtac Talon Esports this 2021.

This has been translated from Pitisak Chot’s original Thai article.

READ MORE: The new AoV map 4.0 will debut a day-night system similar to Dota 2