Malaysian Dota 2 midlaner Kam “Moon” Boon Seng has officially signed with Team SMG for the upcoming Southeast Asian Regional Qualifiers for The International 10.

Moon made the switch after he and Fnatic finished in fourth place at the DPC 2021 Season 2 Southeast Asia Upper Division. Both parties agreed to mutually part ways, as they prepare for the Regional Qualifiers.

Fnatic has gone through multiple roster chances in the 2021 season, which led to them losing DPC Points and finishing with a total of 446.25 points.

Team SMG continues to bolster its roster

Credit: Team SMG

The Southeast Asian organization put together its Dota 2 roster in the middle of the 2021 DPC season. Team SMG then signed top-tier free agents Yeik “MidOne” Nai and Damien “kpii” Chok.

Team SMG was able to qualify into the DPC 2021 Season 2 Southeast Asia Lower Division during the second open qualifier. The team impressed SEA fans by finishing second behind Motivate.Trust Gaming with a 6-1 record.

Team SMG’s Dota 2 roster:

  • (1) Yeik “MidOne” Nai
  • (2) Kam “Moon” Boon Seng
  • (3) Damien “kpii” Chok
  • (4) Tue “ah fu” Soon Chuan
  • (5) Roger “Roddgeee” Tan

Moon’s Dota 2 career

Credit: ONE Esports

Moon is a veteran player who started playing professionally in 2014. He got his big break when he signed with Mineski in 2017. The stacked Southeast Asian squad moved on to win the Dota 2 Asia Championship in 2018, making appearances at The International 2018 and 2019.

Fnatic signed Moon in 2019 after their star midlaner, Abed “Abed” Yusop, decided to join North American squad Evil Geniuses following TI9. He stayed with Fnatic from September 2019 to June 2021, and helped the organization dominate the Southeast Asian region’s Dota 2 scene.

The Southeast Asian Regional Qualifiers is stacked

Credit: Liquipedia

15 teams are in the running to make it into The International 10 through the Southeast Asian Regional Qualifiers. These teams are:

  • OB.Neon
  • Team SMG
  • BOOM Esports
  • Execration
  • Fnatic
  • Omega Esports
  • Motivate.Trust
  • TNC Predator
  • Lilgun
  • Army Geniuses
  • 496 Gaming
  • Galaxy Racer
  • Team Mystery
  • Cignal Ultra
  • ex-South Built.

SEA’s Regional Qualifiers will take place from June 30 to July 3.

READ MORE: Abed carries Evil Geniuses to the WePlay AniMajor Lower Bracket Final