Updated on October 10, 1:10 p.m. (GMT+8): Added images.

The time has come for a new name to claim the Aegis and title of Champion at Dota 2’s most prestigious tournament, The International.

The most esteemed esports tournament in the Dota 2 world, winning TI is the end goal for all professional teams, and only true Dota 2 fans understand what it means to take home the Aegis.

What is Cheese? It’s more than just an item
Did you know? N0tail lives in a huge US$2M, 17-bedroom gaming mansion in Lisbon
This artist’s incredibly detailed hero sculptures look amazing
How to counter Medusa
Once upon a time, you could play League of Legends champions in Dota 2
Dota 2 Aegis of Champions at TI7 2017
Credit: Valve
Funko Pop! Games: Dota 2 - Pudge with Cleaver
Credit: Funko
GET YOURS TODAY: Pudge Funko Pop! Figure

What is the Aegis?

The Aegis of Immortality is an in-game item that resurrects its holder if struck down. It can only be obtained by slaying the beast, Roshan, and only lasts for five minutes until it is reclaimed.

The International: All TI winners throughout the years

Modeled from the in-game item, the Aegis of Champions is given to the winning team of TI for that year. When the next TI comes around, the team who had the Aegis the previous year must return it for the cycle to continue, for one exists in the entire world.

Dota 2 Aegis of Champions concept art
Credit: Weta Workshop

The history behind the TI Aegis of Champions

Brought to life by Weta Workshop in 2012, the same makers behind Lord of the Rings, teams from around the world fight tooth and nail every year to be able to proudly raise the Aegis and say they are the best.

Serving as the trophy for every TI winner since The International 2. The TI Aegis has been claimed thus far by eight teams, with OG being the only team to claim it twice.

Funko Pop! Games: Dota 2 - Sprit Breaker with Mace
Credit: Funko
GET YOURS TODAY: Spirit Breaker Funko Pop! Figure

Playing a huge part in Dota 2’s history, it serves to remind fans of all the epic moments and plays that lead to each Champion.

Every Champion team and its players’ names are engraved on the back of the TI trophy, or as we Dota players like to call it, immortalized in history.

OG wins TI9
Credit: Valve

Every team and player engraved on the Aegis

The International 1Natus Vincere

  1. Ivan “Artstyle” Antonov
  2. Danil “Dendi” Ishutin
  3. Oleksandr “XBOCT” Dashkevych
  4. Clement “Puppey” Ivanov
  5. Dmitriy “LighTofHeaveN” Kupriyanov

The International 2 – Invictus Gaming

  1. Chen “Zhou” Yao
  2. Luo “Ferrari_430” Feichi
  3. Jiang “YYF” Cen
  4. Wong “ChuaN” Hock Chuan
  5. Zeng “Faith” Hongda

The International 3 – Alliance

  1. Jonathan “Loda” Berg
  2. Gustav “s4” Magnusson
  3. Henrik “AdmiralBulldog” Ahnberg
  4. Jerry “EGM” Lundkvist
  5. Joakim “Akke” Akterhall
The official Dota 2 comic book from by Valve on Amazon
Credit: Valve
GET YOURS TODAY: Dota 2: The Comic Collection Hardcover

The International 4 – Newbee

  1. Chen “Hao” Zhihao
  2. Zhang “Mu” Pan
  3. Zhang “xiao8” Ning
  4. Wang “Banana” Jiao
  5. Wang “SanSheng” Zhaohui

The International 5 – Evil Geniuses

  1. Clinton “Fear” Loomis
  2. Syed Sumail “SumaiL” Hassan
  3. Saahil “Universe” Arora
  4. Kurtis “Aui_2000” Ling
  5. Peter “ppd” Dager

The International 6 – Wings Gaming

  1. Chu “Shadow” Zeyu
  2. Zhou “bLink” Yang
  3. Zhang “Faith_bian” Ruida
  4. Zhang “y`” Yiping
  5. Li “iceice” Peng

The International 7 – Team Liquid

  1. Lasse Aukusti “MATUMBAMAN” Urpalainen
  2. Amer “Miracle-” Al-Barkawi
  3. Ivan Borislavov “MinD_ContRoL” Ivanov
  4. Maroun “GH” Merhej
  5. Kuro “KuroKy” Salehi Takhasomi

The International 8 – OG

  1. Anathan “ana” Pham
  2. Topias Miikka “Topson” Taavitsainen
  3. Sébastien “Ceb” Debs
  4. Jesse “JerAx” Vainikka
  5. Johan “N0tail” Sundstein
The five best Pudge counters so you don’t suffer in your next pub

The International 9 – OG

  1. Anathan “ana” Pham
  2. Topias Miikka “Topson” Taavitsainen
  3. Sébastien “Ceb” Debs
  4. Jesse “JerAx” Vainikka
  5. Johan “N0tail” Sundstein

The International 10 – Team Spirit

  1. Illya “Yatoro” Mulyarchuk
  2. Alexander “TORONTOTOKYO” Khertek
  3. Magomed “Collapse” Khalilov
  4. Myroslav “Mira” Kolpakov
  5. Yaroslav “Miposhka” Naidenov

The International 11 – Tundra Esports

  1. Oliver “skiter” Lepko
  2. Leon “Nine” Kirilin
  3. Neta “33” Shapira
  4. Martin “Saksa” Sazdov
  5. Jingjun “Sneyking” Wu

Just a heads up, some of the links on ONE Esports are affiliate links. This means if you click on them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you. It’s a way for us to keep the site running and provide you with valuable content. Thanks for your support!

Find out how some of the teams made it to TI by watching the Heroes of the Game documentary presented by foodpanda.

READ MORE: This 90-second Short Film Contest animation will melt your heart