Updated on August 15, 12:54 p.m. (GMT+8): Improved relevancy.

Worlds 2023 will be in South Korea, the home of esports!

The last time South Korea hosted Worlds was in 2018 and 2014. In 2018, LPL organization Invictus Gaming took home the championship. It was also the year where none of the LCK teams made top four.

The host region was more triumphant during Worlds 2014, which saw Samsung White defeat Star Horn Royal Club 3-1 to claim the title.

Additionally, Worlds 2023 will feature a new format. 22 teams will compete in three stages of competition: the Play-In, Swiss, and Knockout Stages. There is also a new way for teams to qualify for Worlds called the Worlds Qualifying Series.

Everything you need to know about Worlds 2023 format changes

What is the Worlds Qualifying Series?

The 4th seed of LEC and 4th seed of LCS will compete in the Worlds Qualifying Series.

The winner will secure a place at Worlds 2023 in South Korea.

For now, this path to qualification will be limited to these two regions. Riot Games hopes to include new regions and teams in the future.

Worlds 2023 Play-In Stage format explained
Credit: Riot Games

New double elimination format implemented at the Worlds 2023 Play-In Stage

Eight teams will start their journey in the Play-In Stage.

The top two teams from VCS and PCS will be joined by the top team from LLA, CBLOL, LJL, and the winner of the WQS.

The Play-Ins will pair teams up in four double-elimination brackets. Each match will be a best-of-three.

The final two brackets to determine the top two teams advancing to the Swiss Stage will be best-of-fives.

Worlds 2023 Swiss Stage format explained
Credit: Riot Games

Swiss Stage replaces Group Stage at Worlds

A total of 16 teams will compete in the Swiss stage.

In addition to the two teams that qualify from Play-Ins, 14 teams will kick off the competition in the Swiss stage — the top four teams from LPL and LCK, and top three teams from LEC and LCS.

A five-round, Swiss-style format will be played. Teams with the same win-loss record will compete against each other until they achieve either three wins or three losses.

In the first round, teams will be randomly paired against another team from a different region to play a best-of-one.

In the second round, teams will be re-matched against teams that have the same record as them. This will go on for another five rounds. Rounds that involve qualification and elimination will be played in best-of-threes.

At the end, teams that accumulate three wins advance to the Knockout Stage, while teams with three losses will be eliminated from the tournament.

A total of eight teams move into the playoffs.

Worlds 2023 Knockout Stage format
Credit: Riot Games

Knockout Stage remains the same

The Knockout Stage, which comprises the quarterfinals, semifinals, and final, is unchanged from previous years.

Eight teams are drawn into single-elimination king of the hill brackets.

All matches will be best-of-fives. The final determines the Worlds 2023 champion.

Follow ONE Esports on Twitter for more LoL interviews, news, and more.

READ MORE: 7 champions with the best League of Legends lore that deserve their own anime series