This article is part of “Under the SEA (League)” a preview of the teams that will be competing for the US$100,000 prize pool at the ONE Esports Dota 2 SEA League.

In this SEA League preview, we will discuss New Esports, Execration, and Neon Esports, the three teams that emerged victorious from the ONE Esports Dota 2 SEA League Qualifiers that were held from June 4-7.

New Esports

Previously known as Flower Gaming, New Esports features a Dota 2 squad consisting of all Malaysian players that have been competing for many years now. The team has since focused their attention on lower tier tournaments and has done well for itself in the Southeast Asian region.

Under the Flower Gaming banner, the team won the ESL MY&SG Championship Season 1 and Asia Pacific Predator League 2020 Malaysia Finals last year. During the start of the 2020 Dota 2 season, the team swapped out its support player, Paul “Barry” Tan Ke Da for Dota 2 veteran, Ng “YamateH” Wei Poong. 

During the first ONE Esports Dota 2 SEA League qualifier, New Esports upset tournament favorite Cignal Ultra in a best-of-one elimination match. The team would then defeat PG Barracx 2-1 during the semifinal of the qualifier to punch its ticket to the ONE Esports Dota 2 SEA League.

Roster Breakdown

New Esports lineup features a group of highly skilled Dota 2 veterans including Dota 1 legend, YamateH, who was considered one of the “first-generation gods” by the Chinese community. Meanwhile, ddz is still considered a tough matchup against any mid laner in the SEA region.

New Esports roster:

  • (1) Hsien Wan “Lance” Fua
  • (2) Yi Liong “ddz” Kok
  • (3) Ho Wei “Candyloon” Loon
  • (4) Ng “YamateH” Wei Poong
  • (5) Choo Jian “MoZuN” Goh


Execration (XctN) is a Filipino Dota 2 team that has been competing in the SEA region since 2012. Despite being active in lower-tier tournaments in the SEA region, XctN has continued to struggle in producing consistent results after often being eliminated in eighth place. 

XctN moved on to win the second semifinal match of the first qualifier for the SEA League after it defeated another tournament favorite, 2-0.

Roster Breakdown

Execration boasts a strong group of core players in Palos, Benhur, and Bhm, who can impact the course of the game with their stellar performances. Make sure to keep an eye out for Bhm’s active offlane antics as he often likes to go for big plays, once his hero has reached a power spiking timing.

Execration roster: 

  • (1) Jinn Marrey  “Palos” Lamatao
  • (2) Benhur “Benhur” Lawis
  • (3) Bhem “Bhm” Garcia
  • (4) Ralph Richard “Rr” Penano
  • (5) Marvin “yaha” Canlasyaha

Neon Esports

Neon Esports is another Filipino Dota 2 squad that has been competing in the region since 2017. The team has mostly been competing in lower tier tournaments where it has enjoyed success. At the start of the 2020 Dota 2 season, Neon Esports won the Para Bellum 2020 Dota2 Tournament, the Amadeus Cup, and the Epulze Global Dota 2 League: SEA Division 1.

In the second SEA League qualifier, Neon Esports made it into the final by defeating previous qualifier runner-up, PG Barracx in a best-of-one. During the final, Neon Esports then exacted its revenge against Motivate.Trust Gaming, the team that eliminated it from the first SEA League qualifier.

Roster Breakdown

Neon Esports features some of the best Filipino Dota 2 players, including young up-and-coming talents, Yopaj and Jaunuel. Meanwhile, Neon Esports stand-in Raging Potato has shown he still has a lot to offer as a veteran offlaner, after his impressive Treant Protector performance against Motivate.Trust Gaming.

Neon Esports roster:

  • (1) Andrei “skem” Ong
  • (2) Erin Jasper “Yopaj” Ferrer
  • (3) Ryan Jay “Raging Potato” Qui
  • (4) Prieme Ejay PlayHard” Maque
  • (5) Jaunuel “Jaunuel” Arcilla

READ MORE: ONE Esports Dota 2 SEA League