With the ONE Esports MPL Invitational set to kick off in just over two weeks, it’s time to announce the tournament format.

As previously announced, the 20 team tournament will bring together the best MPL teams from Indonesia, Malaysia, Myanmar, The Phillippines, and Singapore to compete for a US$100,000 prize pool.

The invited teams include all four MPL S6 champions, from across five different countries:

  • Indonesia: Alter Ego, Aurafire, Bigetron, EVOS Legends, Geek Fam ID, Genlix Aerowolf, ONIC Esports, RRQ Hoshi
  • Malaysia: Orange Louvre Esports, Todak
  • Myanmar: Burmese Ghouls, Ronin Esports
  • The Philippines: Aura PH, Blacklist International, Bren Esports, Execration, Omega PH Esports, ONIC PH
  • Singapore: EVOS SG, Resurgence

The tournament will be played in a single-elimination knockout format.

The four champions, RRQ Hoshi, Todak, Burmese Ghouls, and Bren Esports will enjoy automatic qualification into the Quarterfinals.

Meanwhile, the remaining 16 teams will be split into four groups, and will battle it out for a chance to face the champions.

All games will be best-of-three matches, except for the final, which will be a best-of-five.

What does the path to victory look like? Check out the tournament format for MPLI here!

Posted by ONE Esports on Wednesday, November 11, 2020

More details on how the first round groups will be selected will be announced soon.

Set to begin on November 27, MPLI will span two action-packed weekends with the finals culminating on December 6.

The tournament will be livestreamed in five different languages, including Bahasa Indonesia, Bahasa Melayu, Burmese, English, and Filipino.

Be sure to bookmark our event site to stay up to date on the ONE Esports MPL Invitational