After leaving OG last month, the OG Seed roster has now officially disbanded after its players received offers from other teams and mutually agreed to part ways.

In a statement on his personal Twitter account, now-former OG Seed captain, Petu “Peksu” Vaatainen, explained that the team originally “was planning to come from our break and get back into Dota” until some of their players received offers from other teams.

“We had a talk as team and decided it’s better to part ways. Sadly, [the coronavirus pandemic] kinda made things hard for this team. Timezone differences, not being able to bootcamp at all, or be able to play in bigger tournaments made it hard for us to keep going, and then with the offers that some of the players had, I think it was going to happen,” said Peksu.

“Following our 2nd place Summit run, beating some of the top teams, we should’ve been a direct invite to every tournament. Not being in these tournaments hurt us immensely, [as we] missed out on practicing versus top teams for top dollars. Instead we were forced to grind t2-t3 tournaments with [Zakari “Zfreek” Freedman] in NA on 150 ping. Even then, we had some amazing performances and I have zero doubt this team would have been really good,” added midlaner Rasmus “Chessie” Blomdin in a separate statement.

OG notably announced that they would be releasing the OG Seed roster after a 30-day period last month. This decision came as the result of both OG teams being unable to compete in the same tournaments due to potential conflicts of interest.

The organization opted to use the 30-day period before releasing its secondary squad to help find them a new team, a plan that seems to have fallen out as some of OG.Seed’s players received offers to join other teams.

“I enjoyed playing with everyone and getting to know each of the players and the staff that worked with us during these eight months. I wish everyone nothing but the best on their careers. Definitely the best team I have been in so far!” said Peksu.

Former OG.Seed roster:

  1. Omar “Madara” Dabachach
  2. Rasmus “Chessie” Blomdin
  3. Andreas “Xibbe” Ragnemalm
  4. Zakari “Zfreek” Freedman
  5. Petu “Peksu” Vaatainen

READ MORE: BOOM Esports Mikoto’s 5 pro tips to master Ember Spirit