Star mid-player Sumail “SumaiL” Hassan has left Quincy Crew, which notably included his brother, Yawar “YawaR” Hassan, due to “fit issues” in the team.

Quincy Crew manager Jack “KBBQ” Chen announced SumaiL’s departure on Twitter, revealing that YawaR will take over as the team’s position-1 player while they look for a new offlaner.

“We tried to resolve our fit issues, but ultimately weren’t able to do so to the point where everyone felt most comfortable and empowered to keep moving forward,” said Chen.

SumaiL’s departure comes shortly after Quincy Crew qualified for the Dota Summit 11 Minor, having been beaten out of a direct invite to the MDL Chengdu Major by J.Storm in the North American qualifiers.

While making it to the Minor should be a noteworthy accomplishment for most teams, it failed to live up to the expectations set by many for a team that included a TI champion and world-class talent in SumaiL.

Quincy was pegged by many to not only be one of the three teams to represent NA in the Major, but to challenge Evil Geniuses’ (EG) dominance in the region as well.

SumaiL notably left EG, the team that he started his career and won The International 2015 (TI5) with, last month to join Quincy Crew. YawaR, who has previously played carry, notably switched to being the offlaner to accommodate SumaiL’s desire to play as the position-1 in the team.

SumaiL’s sudden departure has no doubt surprised many, as he has expressed his desire to play in the same team as his brother before.

KBBQ notably cleared all of the Quincy Crew players of any blame in SumaiL’s departure in his announcement.

“To be clear, no any one person was ‘the problem,’ not SumaiL or anyone else. There are always complicated team issues and circumstances. We are thankful to [SumaiL] for both his contributions and his mentality. He clearly showed us why he’s such an accomplished champion,” added KBBQ.

With his departure from Quincy Crew, SumaiL is once again the most-coveted free agent on the market.

Quincy Crew 2019-2020 DPC roster:

  • (1) Yawar “YawaR” Hassan
  • (2) Quinn “Quinn” Callahan
  • (3) TBD
  • (4) Arif “MSS” Anwar
  • (5) Avery “SVG” Silverman

READ MORE: NiP is the first EU team to qualify for the Dota Summit 11 Minor